RSS

Composition based on your Lens

14 Mar

Image by blackcat79 via SXC

It’s always interesting to read what others suggest as ways to overcome difficulties when shooting. This article from Imagine Thatexplains how to be a Photographer and not a Lens Changer. That’s certainly a different way to look at things, particularly as having plenty of gear gives you so many options when composing. So which is better – having plenty of gear to help you capture every moment, or having minimal equipment and making do.From my perspective, I really think it does depend on the situation you are entering. If I’m going to an event or occasion, then I want to have at least two lenses with me to make the most of different lighting, different distances from subjects and to generally give me extra potential with shots. Carrying extra gear is always heavier, more cumbersome and it will slow you down when you need to change lens from doing what you’re actually there for: taking pictures. However, if you are in an area where you need to cover a lot of different types of shots, having additional lenses and equipment can be a real life saver.If I’m shooting in a studio type environment, then it doesn’t matter if I have all my stuff piled up on the floor ready for me to pick and choose what I use. And at times like that, having a range of equipment is certainly a bonus.

However, having a lot of equipment is costly, so if you can make do with just one lens you will be forced to compose your shots differently. And this is where the Imagine That article shines – because it shows you how to compose based on limited possibilities.

And that makes it worth a look!

.

.

.

.

Camera Equipment Image by blackcat79 via SXC
 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in Composition, Worth a Look

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Composition based on your Lens

  1. Aloha Lavina

    March 14, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Hi, thanks for the kind words and linking to my article on using one lens. I agree that for editorial and reportage sessions, it’s necessary to carry more than one camera body with different lenses attached. I bring at least two cameras to reportage jobs and for editorial shoots I always carry several primes. But the beauty for learners is that one lens forces you to use other resources to be creative–thanks for pointing that out.
    Best, Aloha

     
    • December

      March 14, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      I think this is what I found so powerful about your article – the fact that people who are beginners and just feeling brave enough to turn off the auto button, will probably only have one lens… and therefore knowing how to compose a shot based on that single lens is really effective and great food for thought. Thanks so much for your insightful article!

       
 
