RSS

Maintaining Focus

23 Mar
Maintaining Focus

Images by December Medland. Licensed under CC: BY-NC-ND

It’s strange how we take photographs. As a species we’ve been doing it for several hundred years, and our love affair with photography has continued ever since the first camera was invented.  Back in the old days, camera equipment was only available for the elite, whereas today it seems like everybody is a photographer. There are cameras in just about everything: MP3 players, mobile phones, laptops, and the iPad 2.0; even in your car. So we’ve all become photographers: all capable of snapping every moment as it happens. And that’s what a lot of people do, certainly. They snap and click and shoot. Then they look on the back of their camera and delete what they don’t like and go back to snapping, clicking and shooting.  And this style of photography suits them well!

On the other hand, some shooters prefer to be professional and get paid for their photographs. There’s a range of industry sectors for paid professional photographers: commissioned works, wedding photographers, commercial photographers, artistic photographers. They’re all out there, fighting to stay alive and competitive in a photog-eat-photog market filled with the bulk of the people out-snapping, out-clicking and out-shooting them.

And then there are people like you. Interesting people. Exciting people. Passionate people. People who may never be able to define why they photograph things but love to do it. People who want to frame before they shoot. Explore modes before they click. Compose before they snap. People who have a perspective on photography quite unlike the other two groups above.

Nobody can tell you why you have the passion to be a photographer (though some will try). And there are plenty of lengthy articles explaining how to reignite your enthusiasm for it. But truth be told, you are what you do. And if you photograph things because you love to photograph things… then you have a photographer’s soul.

So, don’t question whether or not you have what it takes. Don’t fret over knobs and buttons – these will take care of themselves as we use this blog to expand your horizons. Just give in to the need to snap, to click and to shoot. Focus on your photography and your photographs will soon blossom with you!

.

.

.

.

Images by December Medland. Licensed under CC: BY-NC-ND

.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Featured, Musings

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Maintaining Focus

  1. LizBarrett

    March 30, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    I’m one of the people who love to take photos. Many photos and usually of scenes from my travels. Have just read some of your posts and I’ve been, until now, an ‘auto-mode’ photographer: always afraid (or perhaps lazy) to see the picture from my own eyes instead of what the camera wants me to do. I’m loving your blog and look forward to more tips!

     
    • December

      March 31, 2011 at 7:09 am

      It’s always wonderful to get a word of encouragement or two Liz, so thanks so much! I’m hoping you’ll post some of your images and let us know if any of these tips and tricks are successful for you! 😀

       
  2. Tiff

    April 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I was nodding my head whilst reading this article thinking “Hrmm, I wonder which one I am?” A snap-dragon taking a flurry of point-and-shoot shots, reviewing and deleting. Or am I one that likes to set the scene before photographing it – and honestly, I don’t really know but probably more the former than the latter. 😛

    There is so much beauty around us that we don’t often stop to look at. I often find myself looking at a light pole, a building, an old couple holding hands, and something about the scene it sets really catches my eye, and I wish for nothing more than to be able to catch on film (or should I say SD card?) and share with others. To me, this is what makes photography a beautiful art form.

    More often than not though, I fail miserably at capturing the magic or emotion of the moment. My creative urges are then diminished and I put the camera back on the shelf to collect dust. So I look forward to picking up some ideas from this blog, and perhaps toying around some more. 🙂

     
    • December

      April 1, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      Tiff, I think it’s so important to capture those moments; those things that speak to us at our core. And it’s fabulous you have already started to immerse yourself in the hidden beauty of our world. So many people won’t even do that! I really am looking forward to you posting links to your images. If I can encourage you to at least keep trying, then I’ll feel I’ve made a major contribution to the world 😀

       
 
